029 2010 5313

Paddeco Third Party Certification

Compliant with the UK government’s Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities (DLUHC) competence standards for scheme operators, and meeting UKAS and the Competence Steering Group's directives for third party certification, Paddeco’s Third Party Competent Person scheme provides a framework of standards to ensure that installation operatives are competent and compliant in the workplace. It guarantees they are working to the highest possible industry standards, the National Occupational Standards (NOS).

Register interest
Register interest

Our scheme:

  • Ensures that operatives are competent and compliant in the workplace to perform their occupational tasks
  • Meets government and UKAS standards for the assessment of installers
  • Assesses installers against the very highest industry standards, the National Occupational Standards.
  • Informs employers and clients that the certified person is working to the National Occupational Standards for their occupation, and Health and Safety, and is being regularly monitored, and developed by qualified individuals to ensure that the highest standards of compliance are being met.
  • Raises individual and industry standards, and meets the directives recommended by the Competence Steering Group (WG2), following the findings of the Grenfell Inquiry.

What roles are covered?

  • Ductwork Inspection
  • Ductwork Installation
  • Fire Damper Inspection
  • Fire Damper Installation
  • Installation of Fire Stopping & Penetration Seals
  • Kitchen Installation Ventilation Ductwork Systems
  • Local Exhaust Ventilation Installation & Inspection
  • Industrial, Commercial Pipe Installation
  • BSE Systems Installation / Maintenance Supervisor
  • Ventilation Hygiene Technician
  • Fire Resisting Ductwork Systems Installer
  • Fire Resisting Ductwork Systems Inspector
  • Air Handling Unit Installer

Why is it required?

In the wake of the Grenfell Tower disaster, 2017, the Industry Response Group established the Competence Steering Group (CSG), which recommended the forming of twelve working groups to develop competence frameworks.

Working Group 2 (WG2 Installers) made several recommendations within the Competence Steering Group’s report “Setting the Bar” and the competence framework pilots report (Phase One). In addition to a mandatory Level 2 or Level 3 qualification for all individuals, it also includes: accredited third party certification of companies, and installers.

Companies are required to keep an updated record of competent individuals, including demonstrating the process of assuring competence and how the maintenance of competence is managed and developed.